Carolina 400 Workout & Grilled Turkey Breast

Strength Training: Carolina 400 Workout

This is courtesy of my husband, the UNC fanatic – seriously, he’s as obsessed with Carolina as I am with food.  I don’t have a medicine ball at home, so I improvised and used a 7.5 weight instead.  I like this because it’s quick – I can finish in 20 minutes if I really push myself, 30 if I take a more leisurely pace.   Great for the core!

After my workout, I was starting to feel a little hungry.  I had a slice of Trader Joe’s low calorie wheat bread with a tsp or so of Tofutti Better Than Cream Cheese and a glass of Silk Light Vanilla Soymilk on the side.

DSC01672

I’m actually upset about the “cream cheese” – the taste was great, but it has 2 g of trans fat per 2 Tbsp!  I didn’t read the ingredients when I purchased it because I was at Trader Joe’s.  Proves you still have to read labels even when you’re in a health food store.  I hate to waste food, but I’ll probably throw this out after my next grocery store trip.

While I was working out, Jim was nice enough to grill a turkey breast:

DSC01671

He basted it with canola oil, and leaves it covered on our grill (covered) with a pan below the rack to catch the mess.  Grill time is anywhere from 1-1.5 hours, until a meat thermometer read 170 degrees.

I love when he does this because then we have fresh turkey for an entire week – so much healthier than processed deli meat!  I wasn’t super hungry after my grazing this afternoon, so I added it to a salad of mixed greens, carrots, TJ’s fire roasted red peppers, dried edamame for crunch, and balsamic vinaigrette dressing:

DSC01677

And some fresh pineapple for dessert:

DSC01676

Leave a Reply

