Tavern on Park – Appetizers Galore!

DSC01714

Lunch

– Creamy Low Fat Cole Slaw: still working on those leftovers 🙂

– Turkey Sandwich:  2 oz fresh turkey breast, 1/2 small avocado and TJ’s fire roasted red peppers on TJ’s low calorie wheat bread

I planned on eating the apple too, but I was full after the sandwich and cole slaw.

Afternoon Snack:

DSC01715 I had 1 Tbsp of freshly ground almond butter on TJ’s low calorie bread around 3:30pm.  Luckily, I checked my Outlook calendar while I was enjoying this; otherwise, I would have forgotten about a board meeting for the Charlotte Dietetic Association tonight! I’ve been the program planner for the past two years; tonight was our transition meeting to help the new board members learn the ropes.  Being on the board has helped with networking, but I’m happy to be passing the torch.

DSC01716I rushed home after work to change out of my scrubs and inhaled some 2% cottage cheese and blueberries so I wouldn’t be starving at the meeting.

The meeting was at The Tavern on Park.  It’s close to my house, but I hadn’t checked it out until now.  I’m still adjusting to taking pictures of everything and didn’t want the whole group to ask what I was doing, so I left the camera at home.  Words will have to suffice tonight:

We had a variety of appetizers:

– Spinach Artichoke Flatbread: I had two small triangles and they were obviously topped with spinach and artichoke…and feta!  Awesome!

– Tomato Bruschetta with Balsamic Reduction: I only had one of these, too much raw onion for my taste.

– Mezza Platter (hummus, olive tapenade, and sun-dried tomato pesto): I had about 2 Tbsp of hummus (awesome), 1 of the pesto (super sweet in a good way), and 1/2 Tbsp of the tapenade (too salty) on 2 pita wedges

– Antipasto: I had 2 spears of asparagus, one sun-dried tomato, and 1/2 oz or so of fresh mozarrella

– Mixed Greens: 2 cups or so with a splash of olive oil and balsamic vinegar

There was also fresh garlic bread, but I passed since I already had pita wedges and knew we were having dessert.  Our incoming president brought a cake (I think it was from Harris Teeter because I recognize the bow) – it was vanilla and chocolate swirl with white icing.  I scraped most of the icing off and ate the inside – decent, but nothing special.  I’m more excited about the dark chocolate Ghirardelli taped to our “parting” gift (a salad container!) – both of which I will be eating/using for lunch tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

