Avocado & Cheese Sammy

Breakfast

Woke up around 8 today and decided on a bowl of cottage cheese, Kashi GOLEAN Crunch Honey Almond Flax cereal, and some fresh blueberries:

DSC01730

After breakfast, I did a quick 30 minutes on the elliptical before showering for my allergist appointment.  I brought a cheese stick to eat in the car since I wasn’t sure how long it would take:

DSC01731Good thing I planned ahead: my appointment was at 10:30, but I wasn’t seen until 11:45 and didn’t finish up until 12:45!  Thank goodness for having Internet on my cell phone!  I caught up on reading one of my favorite blogs, Kath Eats, while I waited.  This is the blog that inspired mine, and I truly admire her creativity in the kitchen – check it out if you haven’t already.  It’s quite addicting…don’t say I didn’t warn you.

The allergist gave me some nasal spray for now, and I have to go back in a few weeks for a skin test to pinpoint exactly what causes my congestion and recurring sinus infections.  I could have done the testing today but didn’t read the new patient paperwork until Monday – turns out I was supposed to stop my Zyrtec a week ago…whoops.

Lunch

I have three ripe avocados hanging out in my refrigerator right now, so I decided to center my lunch around avocado:

DSC01732

Avocado & Cheese Sammy on Trader Joe’s low calorie bread – I used 30 g of avocado and 2 Tbsp reduced fat colby jack, toasted of course.  I might have eaten a slice of bread while the others were toasting. 😉

DSC01735DSC01742

Salad with mixed greens, carrots, leftover canned tomatoes (heated in microwave for a few seconds to cut the chill), 30 g avocado, 2 Tbsp reduced fat colby jack, and 1 Tbsp of Trader Joe’s reduced fat cilantro dressing.  The flavors complimented each other nicely if I do say so myself.

Kenan waited patiently while I ate, giving me “sad eyes” the entire time.  He knows exactly how to get his way, so I gave in and let him “pre-rinse” my dishes…

DSC01738

How can one resist such cuteness?

DSC01740DSC01741

“See Mommy, I’ll even be a good boy and lay down for you…”

DSC01737

Kenan 1,679: Danielle 0 – dog wins over human every time 🙂

Okay, off to the mall to look for a strapless bra for Saturday’s wedding and then to the dentist…wish me luck!

One Response to Avocado & Cheese Sammy

Leave a Reply

