Friday Eats

Breakfast was uneventful – I think I was still half asleep as I rushed through this at 6:15.  I had the usual overnight oatmeal base with 1/2 oz almonds and 1/2 cup Kashi GOLEAN Crunch Honey Almond Flax cereal; I had a glass of TJ’s Vanilla Soymilk on the side:

DSC01771

I started to feel a little rumbly around 10, so I had a Live Active 2% cottage cheese:

DSC01774

And then the rest of my carrots about 30 minutes later…

DSC01775

Lunch was a huge salad and a serving of Kashi crackers around 12:30:

DSC01777

The salad included mixed greens, shredded carrots, canned tomatoes, roasted red peppers, avocado, turkey breast, and TJ’s reduced fat cilantro dressing.  Tasted great at the time, but my stomach felt really odd for the next two hours; rumbly and crampy.  Must be veggie overload or something.  Sorry if that’s TMI…

Anyways, I had an Oikos 0% Greek Blueberry Yogurt around 3:30.  This is the first flavored Oikos I’ve tried and it was excellent!

DSC01779

I left work around 4 and stopped by First Uniform to pick up a new scrub top and bottoms.  I’ve been meaning to buy new ones for awhile, since my current larges are starting to hang off of me.  I thought I would be a medium up top, but I fit in a small on top (at least in this particular brand) so that was exciting – have to celebrate the little things!    I probably could have pulled off the medium petite bottoms but opted for the large petite instead; I hate when scrubs are form-fitting and these were a junior fit to begin with.  Had to laugh at the brand name though – Gray’s Anatomy.

I got home around 5 and had the rest of my TJ’s low calorie bread and a wedge of laughing cow:

DSC01780

After my scrub shopping, Jim and I drove by the local Masoner’s club to pick up a Boston Butt I’d purchased from one of my patients.  Kenan was in the car and whined the entire way home over it.  In fact, he’s staring at Jim as the leftovers are being cut and put away.  I tried a small piece for dinner, but as I suspected, I’m still not a huge fan of pork.  I know two people (well, one person and one dog) who will enjoy it all week though:

DSC01783DSC01782

I stuck with my salad since it was quick and easy – more mixed greens, carrots, and avocado but I added a hard-boiled egg, reduced fat colby, and dried edamame.  I topped it all with a splash of balsamic vinaigrette.  It was good, but like last night, I still didn’t feel satisfied.  I had a bowl of Peanut Butter Bumpers cereal with Vanilla Soymilk:

DSC01766

Apologize for the duplicate picture (it’s the same as last night’s snack), but I promise it looked pretty much like this.  Even after the cereal I still wanted something else…

DSC01786

…a mini Twix!  I’ve had these in the freeze for “emergencies” for about a week or so.  I should have let it thaw a little more because the caramel was sort of crunchy.   Honestly, I want something else, but I’m cutting myself off – I know I don’t need it.

We have a post-dress rehearsal party to attend tonight, and I don’t want to end up with a 2500+ calorie day.  I’m trying not to count calories because I can easily become obsessed with it, but I couldn’t help it after my cereal and candy – I think I’m at 1900 right now.  Obviously today will be a weight maintenance versus weight loss day after you factor in the alcohol I plan on drinking tonight.

I’ll probably have one to three light beers – wine usually gives me a headache, you never know how much sugar they add to liquor drinks, and I really don’t feel like dealing with a hangover tomorrow.  I could drink quite a bit in my college “glory days” but I swear something happened to my body after I graduated – it does NOT handle alcohol like it used to; more than two and I’m starting to push it.

Alright, well better hop in the shower and get presentable.  I’ll post some pictures of the festivities tomorrow.

2 Responses to Friday Eats

  1. Kath says:

    Hey Danielle,

    Do you use the macro setting on your camera? Might help with the blurriness in the photos.

    You have me craving Twix now!

    • rddailybites says:

      I have no clue what a macro setting is so probably not. My camera is a Sony Cyber-Shot 10.1MP which I think is a decent camera, I just don’t know how to work it that well. I’ll have to do some online research. Thanks for the tip!

Leave a Reply

