Kashi and Pizza – Variety???

I slept poorly last night – reset my alarm and skipped the AM strength session.  I’ve been running on empty since 1 (I bet I’m still feeling the effects of Saturday night), but I avoided the temptation of coffee.  That cup at 3 yesterday didn’t help my insomnia – lesson learned.

Breakfast was the usual overnight oatmeal base (1/3 cup oats, 1/2 cup unsweetened almond breeze, and 1 Tbsp ground flaxseed) with toppings around 7:30am.   Today I added 1/2 oz almonds and 3/4 cup Kashi Go Lean – not quite as tasty as Go Lean Crunch, but it packs a nice protein punch.

DSC01843

I also had a glass of 1% milk on the side:

DSC01846

I opted for a Kashi Honey Almond Flax chewy bar as a morning snack at 10am:

DSC01847

I went for a 30 minute walk with Renee and Arielle (surgical dietitian and fitness trainer at my office) around noon.  It was a bit warm, but still felt nice to get out of the office for a bit. 

Lunch was a slice of homemade pizza from last night, fresh zucchini & mushrooms with pizza sauce for dipping, and a cheese stick:

DSC01849

The pizza wasn’t quite as good microwaved versus straight from the oven last night, but I still enjoyed every bite!

Afternoon Snack – I had another Kashi bar at 3:30:

DSC01848

…and some carrots around 5:30 for the drive home:

DSC01851

I rested on the couch for about 5 minutes before I could muster the energy to throw together something for dinner.  Cooking was not on my agenda, so I settled for another slice of homemade pizza and fresh zucchini with Trader Joe’s hummus…

DSC01854

Yes, I took a bite of pizza before I snapped the picture:

DSC01855

Followed by a slice of Tusan Pane bread and ~ 1 Tbsp Skippy Natural Peanut Butter for dessert:

DSC01853

Hmmm…looking back at today’s choices, I’m realizing there isn’t a whole lot of variety.  Kashi and pizza seem to be the theme here.  Oh well, I’m content so that’s all that matters, right?

Leave a Reply

