Cleaning Marathon!

I ate lunch around 1:30 – a combo of leftovers that needed to be eaten up:

DSC01955

Romaine lettuce, shredded carrots, tomato & cucumber from the Farmer’s Market, small apple, hard-boiled egg, and about 2 oz of chicken breast with TJ’s balsamic vinaigrette.  I tried to eat the chicken, but it just didn’t taste good so I pushed it aside – I think I’m getting to that burn out point with chicken breast.

DSC01959

Added a cheese stick at the end since I was a little shy on protein.

After lunch, I worked out for an hour and change – finished 45 minutes on the elliptical and 15 minutes of core strength training and 5 minutes of arms.  I’m excited because Jim wants to buy the P90X DVD series; it will be nice to do something different for a change.  I think it should be here in a week or so! 🙂

Post-workout I tried out the apple butter from Earthfare:

DSC01960

whole wheat bread with fresh ground almond butter and apple butter – YUM!

The rest of the afternoon was spent cleaning – 2 or 3 hours worth!  I swept & mopped the kitchen/bathroom floors (first time in a month for mopping!), swept the den/foyer, vacuumed the bedroom, dusted, and finished two or three loads of laundry.  I used the vacuum attachment to hit all the hidden spots  in our bedroom- I even moved the bed to get the baseboards.  I now  realize why my allergies are worse at night – total dust/feather party back there!  A clean house makes me feel so productive and happy – does cleaning bring anyone else joy or am I the only weirdo out there? I asked Jim to mop the den/foyer, but we’ll see if that happens…

While cleaning, I munched on a few carrots here and there (unpictured) to tide me over until dinner.  We grilled cheeseburgers (96/4 ground beef with 2% colby jack) for Father’s Day – Jim isn’t a father in the technical sense, but we treat Kenan like a child so I got him a card anyways.  I tried to make potato wedges, but I think we didn’t grill them long enough because they turned out crunchy!

DSC01967

I had one of the potato slices and chucked the rest.  Good thing I had a big-old salad to fill up:

DSC01966

romaine, carrots, tomatoes, cucumber and TJ’s reduced fat cilantro dressing

Dessert was grilled peaches with a homemade strawberry glaze:

DSC01964

I didn’t measure any of the ingredients so these are estimates:  2 big handfuls of frozen strawberries, dash ground cinnamon, 1 tsp of vanilla extract, 1 tsp brown sugar, 2 Tbsp lemon juice, and 1 tsp Earth Balance margarine.

Everything blended together in the food processor:

DSC01962

I had a bite straight – it tasted like sorbet!

DSC01961

I filled each peach half with the glaze and then Jim used a rack on grill for about 10 minutes.

DSC01969

The finished product – they were delish! 🙂

Dinner was followed by clean-up and then lunch prep for the next few days.  I finished the night with a bowl of cereal:

DSC01970

1/2 cup each Peanut Butter Bumpers, Kashi Mighty Bites, and skim milk

Okay, better go call my Dad and wish him a Happy Father’s Day.  He’s in Atlanta with my mother and her parents for the weekend; otherwise, I would have made a trip home.  We’re going flying next Sunday, so I’ll have to give him a late hug then.

6 Responses to Cleaning Marathon!

  1. april says:

    Your post workout snack looks delish!

  2. That’s a cool idea with the peaches. I can’t wait til we start getting good peaches here.

Leave a Reply

