Big Daddy’s Burger Bar

My snacks from last night:

DSC01971

a small peach…

DSC01973

…and 4 oz of skim milk

I was still hungry as I was trying to fall asleep, so I had a cheese stick around 11 as well (unpictured).

Now another Monday draws to a close…it’s been a jam-packed day on too little sleep.  I went to bed last night at 10:30 but didn’t fall asleep until well after midnight.  This insomnia thing has got to improve!  I didn’t have to be at work until 9am, so I mentally cancelled my workout last night and reset my alarm for 8.  Luckily, I awoke at 7:15 and decided I would feel better if I worked out – I did a quick 30 minutes on the elliptical followed by breakfast:

DSC01975

A slice of my veggie-rific egg substitute casserole (see recipe page) from the freezer…

DSC01977

…and overnight oatmeal (1/4 cup nonfat plain yogurt, 1/4 cup almond breeze, 1/3 cup oatmeal) topped with 1/2 oz almonds and a drizzle of agave nectar.   The egg casserole wasn’t as good this time around – it was pretty watery, but it was quick and easy so I can’t complain.  The combo lasted me until lunch around 12:30.  I brought a leftover burger from last night, but decided I would save that for tomorrow’s lunch since I had plans to go out for burgers at dinner.  Instead I had the following:

DSC01978

…cucumbers from the farmer’s market (you can definitely tell the difference in taste!), carrots, and a slice of rye with 2 Tbsp fresh ground almond butter & a drizzle of agave nectar.  I ended the meal with 1/2 cup Greek yogurt topped with a bit of the strawberry glaze I made last night.

DSC01979

Looks sort of gross, but it was tasty!

After lunch, Renee (one of the other RDs at my office) and I went for a 30 minute walk.  So refreshing!  Lunch lasted me until 4, and then I decided it was time for a snack.

DSC01981

This one’s self-explanatory 😉

Dinner was girls’ night out with Renee and Arielle – we went to Big Daddy’s Burger Bar.  The names implies grease pit, so I was shocked at the selection of healthier fare.  There was a huge selection of burgers and “fixins” along with entree salads; you could even create your own salad, which I decided was my best bet.  I chose the buffalo burger on a bed of romaine lettuce, mushrooms, chickpeas, cucumbers, tomatoes, fresh mozzarella cheese, and pecans/balsamic vinaigrette on the side.

I am proud to say I took my first food picture in public! Granted it’s not too odd in front of an RD and fitness trainer, but it’s a start, right?

DSC01983

This was my first experience with bison and after this tasty burger, I’m a fan!  I finished all of the burger, most of the salad, 1/2 the nuts, and 1/4 of the dressing (which was really thick for a vinaigrette)…

DSC01984

I wasn’t that hungry after dinner, but still wanted something sweet to end the night…

DSC01985

1/2 cup each Peanut Butter Bumpers and Kashi Mighty Bites with skim milk

Going to catch up on reading blogs, and then it’s off to bed.  Nighty nite! 🙂

5 Responses to Big Daddy’s Burger Bar

  1. lynetteess says:

    I enjoyed reading the comment you left on my blog. Thanks for the input. I will be checking back on yours – I enjoy seeing all your healthy ideas!

  2. Jenn Eats Nutritiously Now says:

    That’s funny about taking pictures in public. It is a little awkward sometimes!

    • Danielle says:

      Jenn and Lee – so glad I’m not the only one who freaks out a bit! I worry too much about people thinking I’m weird; hopefully it’ll pass with time.

  3. inmytummy says:

    I get nervous taking food pictures in public too. I really only do it with my boyfriend since he knows about the blog.

Leave a Reply

