Atypical dinner – smoothie and cereal

Do you ever wake up in total confusion, struggling to remember what day it is?  Today was one of those mornings, and I was sorely disappointed when I realized it was Tuesday instead of Thursday (my day off).  I got over it pretty quick though and moved on to breakfast by 6:30:

DSC01986

Overnight oatmeal (1/4 cup nonfat plain yogurt, 1/4 cup almond breeze, 1/3 cup oats) topped with 1/2 oz almonds, 1/4 cup Kashi GOLEAN, and a drizzle of agave nectar AND some protein:

DSC01987

1/2 cup egg substitute and 1/2 oz low fat mozzarella

I had a cup of coffee at work around 7:30 with a splash of 1% milk (unpictured) to get me going.  Unfortunately, I felt the caffeine crash a few hours later, but gotta love that buzz while it lasts!

DSC01988

I snacked on a cheese stick at 10:00 and decided to have an early lunch at 11:45:

DSC01989

LEFTOVERS!

– 4 oz extra lean ground beef with 1 packet ketchup I “stole” from the break room

– 1/2 cup couscous with pat of Earth Balance margarine

– a pile of green beans with balsamic vinegar

Nothing spectacular, but it did the job and I knew it needed to be eaten before it went bad.  Waste not, want not…or something like that.

Dessert was perfectly sweet though….

DSC01990

…the last of the fresh pineapple. YUM!

One of my patients canceled, so I went for a 30 minute walk around 1pm.  Nothing like fresh air to perk you up, even if it is 90 degree air!

DSC01991

By 4 I was started to feel a little headach-y and hunger was starting to grow, so I had a piece of rye bread with almond butter and agave nectar.  I left work around 4:30 and then had some carrots when I walked in the door.  I debated running, but didn’t really feel up to it; Kenan and I settled for a walk in the park instead.  There were tons of geese and ducks out today!  He loved it – watching his excitement makes me beam like a proud parent…I can’t imagine what being a REAL parent will feel like if a dog brings out this much emotion in me.  Not that I’m planning on becoming a parent anytime soon…just sayin’.

I didn’t feel up to a hot dinner tonight for 3 reasons:

#1 – It’s hot outside!

#2 – Jim is out of town for work so I don’t feel compelled to cook.

#3 – I already had a hot meal at lunch.

Irregardless of the reason, I decided to make a big smoothie and a bowl of cereal:

DSC01992Pineapple-Strawberry Dream Smoothie

– handful frozen pineapple &- handful frozen strawberries

– 1 to 2 Tbsp lemon juice

– water to preferred consistency (I think I used 6 oz???)

– 1 scoop unflavored whey protein

– few drops vanilla extract

– small chunk of brown sugar (?1 tsp)

BLEND AND ENJOY!

I was trying to recreate the sorbet consistency of the glaze I made Sunday night, but it didn’t turn out as thick.  I think I should have used less water and a food processor.  It was still really good though; a perfect summer “treat”!

DSC02009

My cereal bowl contained about 1 cup total – it was a mixture of Kashi Mighty Bites, Kashi GOLEAN, and the last of my Peanut Butter Bumpers (!!!) in skim milk.  I’m going to have to buy another box this weekend for sure.

This may not be typical dinner fare, but I was very pleased and am feeling quite content at the moment.  Now I just have to figure out what to do with the rest of my night.  🙂


4 Responses to Atypical dinner – smoothie and cereal

  1. Jenn Eats Nutritiously Now says:

    The smoothie looks good to me!

  2. Gina says:

    There’s never anything wrong with cereal for dinner, it’s one of my favorites! Cheese sticks are another favorite of mine, I am obsessed with them. The burger looks great too, ironically we had Laura’s Lean burgers last night, off the grill, yum!

Leave a Reply

