P90X is here…what’s a wife to do?

The husband and I tried out the P90X chest & back DVD after my post last night – boy, am I sore today!  LOTS of push-ups – I did the majority of them girly style on my knees and have the bruises today to prove it.  Today’s tape was pyelometrics (lots of jumping around) and both of us worked up a good sweat.

I’ve decided to follow the exercise program with Jim, but I’m not so sure about the nutrition part.  The first phase is 50% protein – ridiculous!   I’m having a moral dilemma here – following it would go against everything I’ve learned as a dietitian about balance BUT I want to be supportive of the hubby.  What’s a wife to do? Suggestions or advice anyone?

Moral dilemmas aside; it’s time for today’s bites…

Last night’s post-workout snack:  Kashi Mighty Bites in skim milk

DSC02037

BREAKFAST

DSC02039

Breakfast cookie (1/2 cup oats, 2 Tbsp PBU, splash of Almond Breeze, 1/2 tsp cocoa powder) topped with another Tbsp of PBU – HEAVEN!

DSC02038

Egg substitute with reduced fat mozzarella

MORNING SNACK

DSC02040

cheese stick

LUNCH

DSC02041

Salad with romaine, carrots, tofu, egg, almonds, and balsamic vinaigrette.  I planned on an apple for dessert, but decided on this instead:

DSC02042

KASHI! 🙂

AFTERNOON SNACKS

DSC02043

Lowfat plain yogurt with 1 Tbsp PBU

DSC02044

Microwaved rye with 1 Tbsp PBU

DINNER

DSC02046

Stir fry with edamame, tofu, sesame oil, garlic powder, and the last of my mozzerella cheese…

DSC02048

1/2 cup total Kashi Mighty Bites/GOLEAN Crunch in skim milk…

DSC02047

…and another slice of rye with PBU – I’m officially obsessed with this stuff! It is soooo good.  🙂

I had a DEXA scan today to retest my body composition (I hop on there every now and then for free – one of awesome perks of my job) – I’m down 2 lbs and 0.5% in body fat over the past month.  It’s a slow loss, but I’m happy to be moving in the right direction.  The weird thing is that my left arm has more muscle than my right – and I’m right handed!  Gotta even those suckers out!

Alrighty, I need to shower – Jim and I are probably going bowling with Chris tonight.  Should be fun! Hope everyone else is having a great Friday night! 🙂

4 Responses to P90X is here…what’s a wife to do?

  1. Jenn Eats Nutritiously Now says:

    I’d say you should support him by giving him a better option. I really don’t think it’s necessary to follow the nutrition part of the program as long as you’re eating nutritiously.

  2. Gina says:

    That’s so awesome you get to do the DEXA for free! Doesn’t it also do your bone density? I was able to do the Bod Pod and the underwater weighing in one of my classes, it was so neat.

    As for the nutrition part of your video, I would tell your husband that he can do it if he wishes, but that from what you’ve learned in school it just isn’t the best idea. Let him know you support his decision, but you’d prefer to stick with your daily eating plan.

  3. Kath says:

    Go with your RD gut and eat carbs!! Who knows who wrote that plan

  4. Danielle says:

    Thanks for the advice ladies! Turns out it was a mute point because he’s decided against the nutrition plan. Things work out the way they’re supposed to I guess.

    Gina – yep, it does bone density, too but I don’t ask for that part of it every time because it takes longer and mine were fine last year.

Leave a Reply

