Busy day and my first Green Monster!

For being slightly hungover this morning, I’m shocked at how productive today turned out to be.  Jim asked me to accompany him to the mall to pick out a present for his grandmother’s birthday, so being the good wife that I am, I happily obliged.  Shopping is a sure-fire way to forget a hangover.  I had a cheese stick in the car since we left at noon and I wasn’t hungry enough for lunch yet.

DSC02059

After browsing for a bit, we settled on Kiehl’s bath stuff.  I might have purchased a body wash for myself as well – gardenia…smells awesome.  After the mall, I had an easy lunch:

DSC02060

Romaine & carrots topped with tuna salad, raisins, and balsamic vinaigrette…

DSC02061

…a slice of rye with Earth Balance margarine…

DSC02062

…and a 100 calorie bag of popcorn because I was feeling munchy.

After lunch and a reading session with SELF magazine, I tidied up around the house and did some laundry.  A hour or so later I was hungry, so I had about 1/2 cup lowfat plain yogurt with 1/4 cup or so of Kashi GOLEAN Crunch:

DSC02063

Refueled and ready to go!  Jim was gone golfing with Chris, so I set out on a shopping mission at Run for Your Life.  I received some gift certificates for my birthday two months ago but was waiting to use them once my bra size changed again.   Sports bras for the “well-endowed” are not cheap, my friends!  I found one bra for running, one for lower impact stuff, and two sleeveless tanks.  I’m excited about the tanks because now I won’t have tanlines from my T-shirts!

After my shopping spree, I set out to gather the weekly groceries at Target and Trader Joe’s.  I might have thrown another sleeveless tank in the cart at Target as well…must have been the shopping demons taking over my hands (or at least that’s my excuse).  It was 7 by the time I made it home but I wasn’t that hungry and wanted to try out my new workout gear.   I had a piece of rye with ~1 Tbsp pbu to get me through the workout:

DSC02047

(Yes, this is a recycled picture from yesterday – I forgot to snap one…)

I took Kenan on a short run through our neighborhood – about a mile or so, and then did the P90X Shoulders & Arms DVD (~1 hr).  I loved this one – I actually enjoy free weights quite a bit.   They just make you feel strong and empowered!   After shoulders & arms I completed the Ab Ribber workout (~15 min) – it definitely rips your abs apart!  I am going to be so sore tomorrow!!!

I wasn’t really hungry after all the workouts, but knew I needed something substantial for dinner.  So…I tried my first Green Monster!!!

DSC02064

In the blender:

– 1/2 cup 1% Keifer

– 1/2 cup lowfat plain yogurt

– 1 scoop unflavored whey protein

– 2 big handfuls baby spinach

– 1 frozen peach

– 1/3 cup frozen strawberries

It turned out almost brown, but it was delish!   I was able to get away without adding agave nectar since the dairy was lowfat instead of fat free.   I also had another piece of rye with pbu on the side, but I didn’t take a picture since it would just be a repeat of earlier.

Fatigue is finally starting to set in after my jam-packed day, so I believe I will be heading to bed shortly.  I’ll try and post before seeing my dad in the morning, but if not, expect some flying pictures tomorrow night!

8 Responses to Busy day and my first Green Monster!

  1. congrats on your first green monster! even thought i love them and they’re so easy to make, i never do….

  2. Susan says:

    I’ve done that P90X video before…left me sore for days!! About the nutrition part you mentioned in earlier posts… I’m with you. As someone who has also recently made peace with carbs, I can see how it would seem like backwards progress to you. I do however think the people who see the most success with the program are those who follow the nutrition program religiously. But they’re almost TOO ripped anyways…

    Love that mix for the green smoothie! And I need to try raisins in my tuna, that sounds good 🙂

    • Danielle says:

      I agree that some of them are too ripped. One woman in the video looks a bit manly, but most of the other women are nicely toned. Following it exactly would probably provide the best results, but I have a feeling it’s because they follow the calorie level, not necessarily because of the protein level. Any diet will work as long as you follow it, but two hundred grams of protein is just way too much for me. Plus, most people regain weight after low-carb dieting…I’ve been down that road before and don’t want to repeat. If it means a slower weight loss, that’s fine by me. 🙂

  3. Gina says:

    I’ve got to try one of those things. I just can’t seem to bring myself to put spinach into a smoothie, but I KNOW they taste great!!

    Kiehl’s is some of my favorite bath/body products. I’ve never purchased a bad product from them! They are great.

  4. Jenn Eats Nutritiously Now says:

    Glad you liked your first GM!

Leave a Reply

