Slow morning

I am too old for alcohol – my head is not happy with me right now…

We were supposed to go bowling last night but never made it to the alley.  The wait was 2 hours, and Chris was starving so we went to Mez instead.  It’s a restaurant adjacent to a club – Chris and his neighbor ordered fillet and roasted chicken which smelled and looked awesome, but I was full from dinner earlier.  I settled for two Samuel Adams Summer Ales instead and was already feeling the effects after one, so I threw in two glasses of water.  Then they decided they wanted to hang out at the actual club; against my better judgment I had a red bull vodka and about 1/2 of a Miller Lite.  We got home around 2am – way too late.   I feel so sluggish today and my head hurts.

For the longest time I wouldn’t go out because I was embarrassed of my weight and would compare myself to other girls (I swear, downtown Charlotte is like a mini-LA sometimes) – me going out as much as I have lately shows my self-esteem is improving.  The only problem is it usually involves alcohol and I end up feeling it the next day.  I’ve got to learn to be able to have one drink and stop!

On a more positive note, Jim and I talked about the P90X nutrition plan.  He doesn’t want to follow the plan exactly and just wants to eat healthier in general.  YAY!  Now I don’t have to worry about cutting back on my carbs.  I’ve worked hard at “making peace” with carbs; following a low-carb plan would set me back mentally and probably increase my cravings/overeating frequency as well.  Consequently, breakfast included carbs and protein 🙂

DSC02049

Breakfast Cookie with Pbu

DSC02050

Egg substitute with low fat colby jack

DSC02056

Tazo Green Tea…

DSC02058

…couldn’t resist a splash of skim milk!

And just for fun…

DSC02053

This just bloomed yesterday in our back yard!

Today’s agenda is up in the air.  A workout is a must!  Today is a chest & arms day for P90X, but I want to get in some cardio as well, especially after last night.  Not sure if I’ll feel up to a run – we’ll see.  My weekly grocery run needs to happen today as well since I have a busy day tomorrow.

I’m meeting my dad to fly at the Monroe airport- he was in the Army and used to ride in the backseat of the fighter jets.  Post-army he got his pilot’s license and became a member of the local flying club – now he rents small planes (Cesna’s I think…I’m not up on plane jargon) for weekend joy rides.  I’ll be sure to take some pictures.  It’s also Jim’s grandmother’s birthday, so I think we might fly to the Gastonia airport, have Jim pick us up so we can hang out with his family, and then fly back to Monroe after that.  It should be a lot of fun.

I hope everyone else is having great weekends so far! 🙂

9 Responses to Slow morning

  1. angiesappetite says:

    Breakfast looks great!!

    Tomorrow sounds awesome…how fun!! Have a great day!

  2. Jenn Eats Nutritiously Now says:

    That flower is beautiful! I’m interested to see how this P90X thing works out for you. I’ve heard a lot about tit lately.

  3. inmytummy says:

    Im interested in hearing about P90X too. And I hear ya on being too old to drink. I get a hangover now from 2 glasses of wine.

  4. Gina says:

    BEAUTIFUL flower!!!! It makes me smile just looking at it.

    I love the Sam Adams Summer Ale, in fact I took a picture of mine from last night (yeah, I had one too!) because I wanted to let the secret out! I don’t even like Sam Adams pale ale, their summer ale is their only good beer (in my opinion). Like you, I feel like I really can’t drink as much as I used to. In college I could drink all night and go home at 3 am! Now I’m lucky if I make it to 12!

    • Danielle says:

      That’s so funny! It’s actually the first time I tried it – and get this, I only ordered it because I was thinking I wouldn’t like it that much and would drink slower. That kind of back-fired since it was excellent!

  5. lynetteess says:

    I love the picture of the flower – so pretty!

Leave a Reply

