Flying vegetables!

Breakfast

DSC02065

Breakfast cookie with 1/3 cup oats, splash of Almond Breeze, 1/2 tsp cocoa, 1 Tbsp pbu on top, and a drizzle of agave…

DSC02067

…and some egg substitute with low fat mozzarella tucked inside.

I also had a cup of green tea with skim milk:
DSC02068

After breakfast, I drove to meet my dad at the regional airport. I am so upset – my camera died on the airfield today!  I took a picture of some of the other planes:

DSC02069

…and the tail of the one we were taking…

DSC02071

…and then the battery went dead!

It’s my own fault for not checking before I left.  We had a great time though – he even let me fly (or attempt to fly) for a bit.  The hard part was seeing over the dashboard because I’m so short.  Next time I need to bring a big pillow.

We made a pit stop in Gastonia to celebrate his and my grandmother-in-law’s birthday.  Lunch was a spread – roast beef, potato casserole, shrimp etufe, rice, okra, fried squash, salad, and rolls.  I had 3 oz or so of the roast beef, 1/2 cup of potato casserole, 1/4 cup of shrimp, a few pieces of okra, two small slices of fried squash, and salad.  I skipped the rolls and rice to save room for dessert – a Baskin-Robbins ice cream cake!  YUM!

After lunch, we flew for another hour or so and then landed to exchange goodies.  His birthday present for a huge bag of veggies from the garden, homemade pickles, and fresh zucchini bread.  Check out my crisper – totally packed!

DSC02075

Flying vegetables!  – cucumbers, okra, yellow squash, and zucchini (it’s hiding underneath)…

DSC02076

…and the pickles which I’ll open sometime this week.

I was starting to feel a bit sluggish around 4, so I had a protein bar on the drive home.  It’s Healthwise, the brand we carry at my office – not natural by any means, but it did the job.  I don’t have a picture since I hadn’t made it home to change the camera battery yet.   After putting up my goodies, I set out to do the P90X Yoga – it was 90 minutes and no walk in the park.  I’m still flexible from my former dance/twirling days, but there were some moves I couldn’t master.

Dinner was fairly light due to the large lunch:

DSC02072

Mixed-up bowl of squash, zucchini, onions, tofu, and mozzarella flavored with champagne vinegar and dill

DSC02074

I couldn’t resist trying a slice of my mom’s homemade zucchini/blueberry bread.  It was really good, but I’m feeling a bit stuffed now.  Too many sweets in one day!

Well, it’s time for this girl to shower and wind down.  I hope everyone had wonderful weekends – I know I did! 🙂

12 Responses to Flying vegetables!

  1. homecookedem says:

    Glad you had such a good weekend! I really need to try making a breakfast cookie. I know I would love it. Maybe when I start back to school and I’m busier, breakfast cookies might be a good idea when I’m in a rush. Blueberry zucchini bread sounds really good. I’ll have to add blueberries in next time I make my z. bread!

  2. biz319 says:

    What a great day! In a town near my house they have “aviation” day and for FREE any child, with parental consent, can fly in a small plane for 30 minutes – it’s supposed to promote aviation as a career in kids – your post reminded me of when my daughter did that when she was younger.

    Happy Sunday!

  3. Susan says:

    Wow, you’re so lucky you have a dad that can take you out flying! I love being on planes! Flying one however sounds very scary 😛

    Those homemade pickles sound verrry yum. As does that blueberry zucchini bread. Some good looking eats!!

  4. burpexcuzme says:

    shrimp etufe? What is that? Either way, it sounds good!
    Wow…flying…how blessed are you? It sounds like SO much fun, and what a great experience to boast about!

  5. Gina says:

    Did you make your own pickles? That’s so neat! I have a pickle obsession, which is why I try to buy them rarely! Oh and the zucchini blueberry bread, you just found the soft spot in my heart.

    Yeah for flying veggies!

  6. Jenn Eats Nutritiously Now says:

    That blueberry zucchini bread looks delicious!

  7. lynetteess says:

    What a fun day you had. I’ll have to get my zucchini bread maker to try adding blueberries next time she makes it for me – okay homecookedem???

  8. That blueberry bread looks so good. Do you have a recipe? I really really need to attempt to make a breakfast cookie too. I still haven’t ever tasted one!

    http://smallchangesaddup.wordpress.com

  9. Danielle says:

    smallchanges – I don’t have the recipe at the moment, but my mother is emailing it to me. I’ll post it this week!

    lynette, homecookedem, and Jenn – At first I thought you were talking about an actual bread maker, but I guess a daughter works just as well as a bread machine…haha. It just dawned on me today that ya’ll are related after reading lynette & Jenn’s posts with the anniversary/bday pics. YAY for family support!

    Biz – Aviation Day sounds awesome!

    Susan – It would be scary by myself, but he can take over at any second so I felt mostly comfortable…mostly be the key word there. 😉

    Gina – I would love to take credit for the pickles, but they were from my mother.

    burpexcuzme – Yes, I definitely consider myself blessed! Shrimp etufe is a cajun dish with shrimp, peppers, onions, and lots of spices. It’s usually served over rice. My aunt-in-law used to live in New Orleans, so she usually brings something authentic to family get-togethers. PS – love the name! 🙂

  10. Like everyone else, I’m totally intrigued by this blueberry zucchini bread. For some reason, I also feel the urge to bake something involving lemon and raspberries, but alas, it will have to wait since it’s nearly midnight. I also think it’s really cool you can go flying with your dad. My husband mentioned he thought it would be neat to learn to fly, and I agree.

  11. So, I actually made something involving lemon and raspberries – a tart, to be specific. It’s not the world’s healthiest food, but it was absolutely delicious. I got the recipe at http://www.sassyradish.com/archives/2009/02/lemon_raspberry_tart.html in case you ever feel like making it. I still need to try the blueberry-zucchini combo.

Leave a Reply

