Grass, and ragweed, and mold…oh my!

My allergy dilemma has been solved – skin testing today revealed major reactions to grass, ragweed, mold, and cat dander and a moderate reaction to dog dander.  So basically I have to stay inside and get rid of my dog – yeah right!  They are going to start me on weekly allergy shots for a year if insurance approves it, and I’ll have to continue the Zyrtec and nasal sprays for now.  I told Jim I have an excuse to not cut the grass for at least a year now…haha.

Breakfast was quick and easy today:

DSC02088

Another breakfast cookie with pbu…

DSC02089

…and cottage cheese with agave nectar & cinnamon.

I wasn’t thrilled with the cottage cheese, but I’m still in love with the breakfast cookie.  My morning snack was skipped since the allergy appointment ran late, which made me late for my first patient, throwing me off schedule until lunch.  I keep forgetting other clinics aren’t as on time as mine.

DSC02090

Lunch was a platter of carrots, zucchini, mini whole wheat pitas (so cute!), and tuna salad with my mother’s homemade pickles.  They were delish!

DSC02092

Mini tuna salad pitas complete with pickle! (Ignore the “man thumb” – should have used some lotion before it’s photo-op)

DSC02082

…and one of these guys for dessert.  I think it might be my last one! 😦

After lunch, I taught one of my introductory nutrition classes.  It was more fun than usual today because one of the patients was quoting this comedian who talks about food & dieting- John Pinette, I think?  I’d never heard of him before but some of the material was hysterical.  I plan on checking it out after posting.

Afternoon Snackies:

DSC02094

Nonfat plain yogurt with homemade strawberry glaze (see recipe page)…

DSC02095

…a spoonful of freshly ground almond butter…

DSC02096

…and Kashi crackers (all eaten around 3pm)  YUM!

I got home around 5:30 and needed a pre-workout “something” to keep me full until dinner at 7.  I settled on TJ’s low calorie bread with light cream cheese.

DSC02078

(recycled picture….sorry)

Jim and I tried out the Kenpo P90X DVD today….basically another term for kickboxing.  It was a lot of punching and kicking, but honestly, I wasn’t that impressed.  I barely broke a sweat – there needed to be more jumping around or something.  I wasn’t super hungry after the workout, so dinner was extremely low-key:

DSC02097

1 cup total of Kashi Go Lean & Go Lean Crunch mixed together, 1 cup of 1% kefir, and a kiwi

Kenan is moping around – perhaps it’s because he knows I’m allergic to him.  That and he’s mad I didn’t give him any of my dinner.  Poor baby.

6 Responses to Grass, and ragweed, and mold…oh my!

  1. I love cereal for dinner!

  2. lynetteess says:

    I’m glad you were able to find out what you are allergic to. That helps and it IS a good excuse not to have to mow. Looks like you had a busy day!

  3. Susan says:

    Boo, that’s a lot of allergies 😦 I went in for a skin testing for fruits, and left with a grass allergy! Hasn’t bothered me yet this year, but I live in a pretty urban spot.

    That almond butter looks to die for!!

  4. burpexcuzme says:

    LOL, that is such a college food, cereal for dinner. I have a friend who would ALWAYS have a box of cereal with her in college, even to classes!

  5. Danielle says:

    Lynette – That’s what I thought!

    Susan – Good thing you aren’t around grass much. Do you take anything for your allergies or do you wait until they flare up?

    burpexcuzme – Looks like I never outgrew it…haha!

Leave a Reply

