Blueberry Zucchini Bread/Muffins

As requested, here is the recipe for my mom’s blueberry zucchini bread.  After looking at the ingredients, I knew this one was going to pack a calorie punch because of all the sugar – around 260 calories and 32 grams of sugar per slice using the recipe calculator on http://www.sparkrecipes.com!  I decided I would prepare the original for my bible study group on Wednesday and try my hand at a lower calorie version just for fun.

Mom’s Blueberry Zucchini Bread (the original recipe)

DSC02209

    Ingredients:
    2 cups all purpose flour
    1 cup whole wheat flour
    1 tsp salt
    1 tsp baking powder
    1 tsp baking soda
    1.5 tsp cinnamon
    1/4 tsp nutmeg
    2 cups grated zucchini
    2 eggs
    1 cup nonfat plain yogurt
    1 3/4 cup sugar
    1.5 tsp vanilla extract
    1 cup frozen blueberries

Preheat oven to 325 degrees. Grease 9×5 pan and dust with flour.  Grate zucchini (I used a food processor):

DSC02210

Combine flour, salt, baking powder, baking soda, and spices in one bowl; combine zucchini, eggs, yogurt, vanilla, and sugar in another. Toss blueberries with 2 tsp flour. Add flour to zucchini mixture, stirring until just combined.  Fold in blueberries.

Bake 60-90 minutes or until loaf is golden brown and toothpick inserted into center is clean. Cool for 20 minutes before slicing.

DSC02212

On a pretty platter:

DSC02224

Number of Servings: 12

Nutrition Stats: ~260 calories, 1 g fat, 57 g carbohydrate, 32 g sugar, 3 g fiber, 6 g protein

Lightened Up Blueberry Zucchini Muffins

Same directions as the original, except I decreased the sugar to 1 cup and replaced the 2 whole eggs with 4 egg whites.   I also used a muffin tin since the loaf pan was in use and muffins = automatic portion control.  These cooked in about 45 minutes instead of 1 hour.

DSC02213

DSC02217

DSC02218

Nutrition Stats (per muffin): ~200 calories, 44 g carbohydrate, 20 g sugar, 3 g fiber, 7 g protein

I could tell these weren’t as sweet, but they were still really good!  I froze them after they cooled so I don’t feel obligated to eat them all within a week.

2 Responses to Blueberry Zucchini Bread/Muffins

  1. Gina says:

    Wow, what a delicious treat! Those sounds amazing. I love zucchini bread, but I’ve never added blueberries, it’s a great idea.

  2. Yummy! I freeze a lot of stuff I bake too….

Leave a Reply

