Sampling Sunday

The husband didn’t feel like P90X today, so I decided to run instead.  I managed 3.5 miles at a slow pace; not bad for post-alcohol.  Post-run I made lunch:

DSC02206

Cereal (what else?) – 1 cup Kashi Go Lean, 1/2 cup Trader Joe’s O’s, 1 cup 1% kefir, and 1/2 oz almonds…

DSC02207

….and some fresh pineapple.  I planned on this being my entire lunch, but I was still hungry 30 minutes later.

DSC02208

I decided a Banana Smoothie would hit the spot.  It contained 1 scoop Unjury unflavored protein powder, 4 oz unsweetened Almond Breeze, frozen medium banana, and 1/2 packet of PureVia (leftover free samples).  It tasted like ice cream with the added stevia! 🙂

Obviously (if  you read my earlier post), my afternoon was spent baking zucchini bread/muffins.  I had 1/2 of the following muffin and might have licked a spoonful of batter.

DSC02218

I also made some dark chocolate chip oatmeal cookies for Wednesday’s bible study group.

DSC02219

I let these cook for too long, so the bottoms burnt…boo.  I couldn’t resist trying one, so I took this one with the ooey-gooey Ghirardelli:

DSC02220

Burnt bottoms aside, it was delish!

The cookies used the last of my oats, so I made a trip to Healthy Home Market for some bulk bin goodies – wheatberries, oat bran, rolled oats, and cashews.  I wanted to try my hand at some homemade cashew butter:

DSC02221

6 oz cashew pieces into the mini food processor

DSC02222

5 minutes later

DSC02223

10 minutes later

I thought my poor processor was going to overheat, but it’s still alive.  I sampled a Tbsp to make sure it was edible – and oooh buddy, it’s edible alright!  Can’t wait to use this stuff over the next week!  After all my “samplings” this afternoon, I decided my 30 minute run wasn’t going to cut it.  I hopped on the elliptical for 45 minutes and then showered.  By 7, I still wasn’t hungry but didn’t want delay dinner much longer.  I settled on another banana smoothie (unpictured, since it’s the exact same as earlier) and a plate of leftover grilled tinfoil veggies with Parmesan cheese:

DSC02225

YUM YUM – the Parmesan makes this dish!

Now it’s time for some relaxing with the husband.  Hope everyone had a wonderful July 4th weekend! 🙂

11 Responses to Sampling Sunday

  1. Gina says:

    What else do you add to your cashews to make butter? That looks very tasty, and I’m looking for a new type of peanut butter 🙂

  2. Everything parm cheese touches turns to magic, wouldn’t you agree?

  3. burpexcuzme says:

    cashew butter! So cool! I’ve never tried those before!

  4. What a great idea! I’ll definitely try that. I love almond butter and natural peanut butter, so I bet I’d like cashew butter, too. Way to go on the running, too, by the way!

  5. Jenn Eats Nutritiously Now says:

    Mmm that banana smoothie looks delish!

  6. Gina says:

    I twirled for about two years, then quit 😦 I still have a lot of the skills though, I love to spin the baton!

  7. lynetteess says:

    Those cookies look very similar to mine. I’m emailing you the recipe. I hope you enjoy!

Leave a Reply

